top of page
apwritingspeaking

The Father's Heart

Quickening the pace I stalked my way back down the hallway into the loungeroom; sitting in anticipation of the pending tantrum that had now become our evening bed time ritual. Our 12 month old had reached that ripe age of knowing what she wants without understanding what she needs. After a short time sulking she escalated to crying; hitting her screaming climax shortly after. She had caught my attention and as I sat in the dark rocking her in my arms I compared my heart as her mother to God’s father heart for me.


How often is Jesus stood nearby listening to me sulk and complain about where I am, all the things I haven’t got and what I should be doing knowing, in all His wisdom, that if I were just obedient in that ONE thing the rest would come? As a mother I knew, in MY wisdom, that my daughter’s misery, anger and frustration was due to her being tired and if she only relaxed and closed her eyes she’d be asleep in no time; waking up feeling refreshed, relieved and back to her happy self.


As her mother, I too was nearby. I could hear her protests, I could hear her crying however I allowed her to continue; responding to her once she cries out to me in complete desperation. There was a point in that evening routine where I, as a loving mother, was prepared to set aside what I knew was best for her in order to provide what she needed in that moment. She needed to know that I was there for her. She needed me to scoop her up in my arms, cuddle her close and let her know that I’m still here, I’m still listening, I still care, I still love her and everything was going to be ok. My daughter understands, in her loving relationship with me, that if she pursues me I will come to her.


"But from there you will seek the Lord your God and you will find him, if you search after him with all your heart and with all your soul." Deuteronomy 4:29


God hears our protests, He hears our cries and He responds to our desperation. When we seek God desperately and whole-heartedly, unashamedly crying out to him, our loving Father scoops us up, holds us tight and let’s us know that everything is going to be alright. When we seek Jesus passionately we appeal to his Father heart.


"I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me." Proverbs 8:17


As parents we know that our children have a way of twisting our arm when it comes to desperation. We may know what’s best for them in that moment however when they cry out we come running. One day, my daughter will learn what’s best for her but for now I’ll cuddle her, wipe away her tears and tell her I love her. Then as she drifts off to sleep I’ll whisper to myself “we’ll try again tomorrow”.


Whatever you’re feeling, tired, miserable, weary, depressed, lost, hopeless, seek after God whole-heartedly, unashamedly and passionately; without any reservations or doubt and he will come running. It's part of the Dad job description.


"Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened." Matthew 7:7-8



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page